Thursday, July 17, 2014

Teaching Tolerance announces their teachers of the year.

     Teaching Tolerance announces their teachers of the year.  Their stories in print and video are in the link below.

Meet the 2014 Teaching Tolerance Award Winners!

The big moment is here! Teaching Tolerance is pleased to introduce to our community five visionary educators who use their talents to reduce prejudice, improve intergroup relations and promote equity in their school communities all year long. That’s why they were selected to receive the 2014 Teaching Tolerance Award for Excellence in Teaching. Christopher Avery, Amy Vatne Bintliff, Christopher Hoeh, Barrie Moorman and Michelle Nicola received their awards at a ceremony on Sunday, July 13 in Montgomery, Ala.
“The winners of this award are expert social-justice educators,” said Teaching Tolerance Director Maureen Costello, “and who better to learn from? We believe their work will inspire other teachers and encourage them to lead and innovate in their own school communities.”
Over the three days leading up to the award ceremony, the awardees attended a teacher leader summit during which they participated in workshops designed to capture their unique contributions and share them with the larger TT community.
The awardees also welcomed TT into their classrooms this past spring where our staff gathered footage of these innovative leaders in action. We hope you’ll take a few moments to get to know them better—and to be inspired!